The European Commission recently announced that the finalist cities of this year’s European Capital of Innovation Award are Aarhus, Antwerp, Athens, Bristol, Gothenburg, Hamburg, Leuven, Lisbon, Madrid, Toulouse, Umeå and Vienna.

The European Capital of Innovation (iCapital) Award is an annual cash prize awarded to the European city that is best able to demonstrate its ability to harness innovation to improve the lives of its citizens.

In particular cities that

·         contribute to open and dynamic innovation ecosystems

·         involve citizens in governance and decision-making

·         use innovation to improve the resiliency and sustainability of their cities

The winner – the European Capital of Innovation 2018 – will be announced at the Web summit in Lisbon on 6 November by Carlos Moedas, Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation and receive a prize of €1 million.

For more information read here->

Foto: Umeå kommun, fotograf Sara Stenberg

More news from our Partners

All news
North Sweden Cleantech

Envigas creates value from wood and agro residues

Green Gothenburg

Joint project to build a refuse truck with fuel cells

Green Gothenburg

Visit from Nothern Connection

More Swedish Cleantech News

All Articles